🔎

Essays

Time In The 10,000-Year Clock

Published on Thursday, February 9, 02012  •  2 years, 6 months ago
Written by Danny Hillis for American Astronomical Society

A Proposal for Meaningful Change in Washington. (Really)

Published on Monday, June 20, 02011  •  3 years, 2 months ago
Written by Danny Hillis for Huffington Post

The Future Will Have to Wait

Published on Sunday, January 22, 02006  •  8 years, 7 months ago
Written by Michael Chabon for Details

The Fundamentals

Published on Wednesday, February 16, 02005  •  9 years, 6 months ago
Written by Roger Kennedy for The Long Now Foundation

Why the West Is Burning

Published on Saturday, February 16, 02002  •  12 years, 6 months ago
Written by Roger Kennedy for New York Times

Pharaoh Dreamed

Published on Wednesday, January 16, 02002  •  12 years, 7 months ago
Written by Stewart Brand for The Long Now Foundation

Is Technology Moving Too Fast?

Published on Monday, June 19, 02000  •  14 years, 2 months ago
Written by Stewart Brand for Time

Taking the Long View

Published on Wednesday, April 26, 02000  •  14 years, 4 months ago
Written by Stewart Brand for Time

The Singularity

Published on Monday, August 16, 01999  •  15 years ago
Written by Stewart Brand for The Long Now Foundation

Anxiously Waiting for the Millenium

Published on Wednesday, June 16, 01999  •  15 years, 2 months ago
Written by Paul Saffo for The Long Now Foundation

The Library

Published on Friday, May 28, 01999  •  15 years, 3 months ago
Written by Stewart Brand for The Times Higer Education

The real Y2K bug

Published on Saturday, May 8, 01999  •  15 years, 4 months ago
Written by Paul Saffo for Salon.com

Reframing the Problems

Published on Thursday, February 11, 01999  •  15 years, 6 months ago
Written by Stewart Brand for

Impatient Pendulum

Published on Thursday, July 16, 01998  •  16 years, 1 month ago
Written by Danny Hillis for Forbes

The Big Picture

Published on Saturday, May 16, 01998  •  16 years, 3 months ago
Written by Danny Hillis for Wired

Intelligence as an Emergent Behavior or, The Songs of Eden

Published on Monday, March 16, 01998  •  16 years, 5 months ago
Written by Danny Hillis for Daedalus

Why Do We Buy The Myth Of Y2k?

Published on Monday, February 16, 01998  •  16 years, 6 months ago
Written by Danny Hillis for Newsweek

Written on the Wind

Published on Wednesday, February 11, 01998  •  16 years, 6 months ago
Written by Stewart Brand for Civilization

A Time of Transition/The Human Connection

Published on Wednesday, April 16, 01997  •  17 years, 4 months ago
Written by Danny Hillis for Association for Computing Machinery

The Millennium Clock

Published on Thursday, February 16, 01995  •  19 years, 6 months ago
Written by Danny Hillis for Wired

Two Questions

Published on Friday, February 10, 01995  •  19 years, 6 months ago
Written by Stewart Brand for Wired

The Big Here and Long Now

Published on Sunday, January 15, 01995  •  19 years, 7 months ago
Written by Brian Eno for The Long Now Foundation

Why physicists like models, and why biologists should

Published on Tuesday, February 16, 01993  •  21 years, 6 months ago
Written by Danny Hillis for Current Biology

Richard Feynman and The Connection Machine

Published on Sunday, January 15, 01989  •  25 years, 7 months ago
Written by Danny Hillis for Physics Today

Balancing a Design

Published on Monday, February 16, 01987  •  27 years, 6 months ago
Written by Danny Hillis for IEEE Spectrum